Protect access to CCAP

The Wausau Daily Herald published this great editorial about the value of easy access to public records yesterday. It highlights once again the importance and utility of CCAP, and makes the point that denying it to the public as a resourse would be unfortunate.

I could pull a bunch of good quotes from it – for example:

The fear that misinformed people will improperly use information about dismissed cases does not justify circumventing open records law with this bill.

but I really think you should just go read it the whole thing.

 UPDATE: The Milwaukee Journal Sentinel chimes in with this article: Some seek court records taken off Web.

UPDATE II: The Capitol Times enters the fray with this letter to the editor from Dee J. Hall: Don’t erase charges from Web crime files.

2 Responses to “Protect access to CCAP”


  1. 1 Jeni February 20, 2008 at 11:04 pm

    Oh boy, do I have an e-mail you may wish to see and share! I found this post extremely interesting and took it upon myself to e-mail the three state legislators involved in trying to change CCAP.

    Mr. Marlin Schneider, WI Rapids Democrat Representative, saw fit to embark on quite a debate with me. I would LOVE to share the e-mail with you, if you’re so inclined. Personally, I find his “reasoning” quite UNreasonable. Feel free to use the address included with my post and let me know if you’d care to see it.

    Godspeed — and keep up the great work!!!😀

  2. 2 Elizabeth February 21, 2008 at 4:40 pm

    I’d love to see it — I’ll e-mail you!


Leave a Reply

